Whole 30 Days 4 & 5 : Road Trip Style

I made it through the first few days of headaches and was well aware of the fact that I might be crabby Saturday and Sunday. Due to the nature of your body getting rid of toxins, generally, you want to “Kill All the Things” around this time. Add to that PMS and it’s time for a perfect storm. Oh, and did I mention that we took a little road trip on these exact days?  What was I thinking!!!!?

To my surprise, and maybe due to the extensive preparation, I was not the one who got cranky at all. Friday evening, after Dear Hubby and son got home from their road trip to Colorado, I set up in the kitchen to prep. We were only going to Columbus, a two hour drive, for a little over 24 hours but I wanted to be prepared. The thought of drive thrus and questionable salad ingredients was not appealing. 

I made up a batch of the Chicken Apple Sausage with Sweet Potato dish I made earlier in the week. I cut up a bunch of raw veggies, bagged up several different kinds of nuts and dried and fresh fruits, and put some salad ingredients in a couple of different containers. DH brought back a nice plug in cooler from his dad’s house so we had plenty of room for all that food. 

Saturday we woke up and I made a nice omelet with some oranges. 

  
During the drive, I snacked on some pistachios (which surprisingly the kids were all over!). Between water and fruit and nuts, we drove around various neighborhoods in Columbus. We were trying to find the perfect little area where we coul have good schools AND affordable rent for a house. 

By the time we checked into the hotel, I was starving and so were the kids. I made them some PB&J and absentmindedly started to lick the spoon (Oops!😜) but caught myself after tasting the too sweet jelly on my tongue. After discovering we had a little more money than we had originally thought, Dan and I ordered room service. I tried to get the most clean meal I could so chose steak, steamed veggies and potato. I have to admit, I had butter on my potato and I don’t feel guilty one bit. The steak did come with some sauce on it and I just did my best to scrape it off. Overall it was pretty darn delicious (as it should have been at a price of $28!!!). 

The next day, I warmed up my apple sausage dish in the microwave and ate that for breakfast before we checked out and started our hunt again. We did find a few cute little neighborhoods, but cute and affordable rent apparently don’t go together in Columbus.  So we headed home to get prepared for getting back to work and school. 

That evening I made spaghetti with Ragu and then made spaghetti squash for myself with a nice chunky tomato sauce (I’ll share the recipe later). 

After all of that driving around, the kids were stir crazy and my Fitbit said I was lazy. Since we were enjoying a nice sunny day, I took each kid for a one mile walk around the neighborhood. Doing that plus making dinner and general walking got me pretty close to my 10,000 steps for the day!

To end the day, we watched the season finale of The Walking Dead. I tried very hard to NOT cave into junk food that has become a staple of our Sunday night ritual. However, when your husband pops a bag of popcorn in the microwave . . . Ugh! Really?  He just HAD to tempt me! So I scrounged the cabinets for something Whole 30 friendly that I could make to satisfy my sweet/salty tooth. I came up with this lovely gem of a recipe that would put movie theater buttered popcorn to shame. Enjoy!😊

Movie Theater Butter Salty Trail Mix

  
Ingredients

1 Tbs ghee (clarified butter)

1/3 cup pecans

1/3 cup walnuts

1 Tbs ground flax seed

1-2 Tbs Unsweetened Coconut flakes

1/3 cups raisins

2 Tbs Unsweetened coconut milk

Sea salt to taste

Preparation

Melt the ghee in a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the pecans and walnuts and sauté for about 4-5 minutes. Add the ground flax seed and coconut flakes and stir until mixed well. Add the raisins and sea salt then cook just until the raisins are soft. Be careful not to let the nuts and coconut burn. Transfer to a bowl and drizzle with the coconut milk. Makes 2 servings. 

What's on your mind today?

