Whole 30 Day 1

Well I survived Day 1 without cheating at all.  I know, no big deal, everybody makes it through the first day right?  I was dreading the caffeine withdrawal headache but I was proactive this time.  Once I felt it starting around 10 AM I took a dose of ibuprofen and just continued to drown myself in water all day long.  By the end of the day, I had made it through without revisiting my food and kept the headaches at bay with 3 doses of ibuprofen by the time the day was over.

The thing that amazed me was the complete and utter exhaustion.  I wasn’t expecting that until today but I guess the no caffeine did me in.  After a walk with our friend down the road, Katie and I came home to relax before dinner.  I gave her the iPhone so she could watch YouTube while I did some work on the computer.  I passed out in the chair for at least half an hour!  I did not do my Beachbody workout like I promised myself I would, but at least my food was on track.

Here’s what I ate on Day 1:

Started off my day with hot lemon water instead of my standard coffee.  It’s not that you can’t have coffee on Whole 30, but I have serious suspicions that coffee may be one of my trigger foods so I’m cutting it out cold turkey.

IMG_2425

Breakfast: 2 slices of Paleo bacon, 2 fried eggs on a bed of spinach, strawberries and some Mango tea

IMG_2449

Lunch: One-Pan Paleo Chicken Apple Sausage & Sweet Potato Skillet from Sara @ Mom Endeavors.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly this time but hers is my inspiration.

Dinner: Taco meat, romaine, avocados and onions.  I make my own taco seasoning from this recipe on Allrecipes.com.  I usually will adjust it based on how much meat I’m making.

Snacks: Katie and I took a trip to Wal-Mart yesterday to run some errands and ended up picking up some of the Nature’s Harvest Plantains, Cashews, and Brazil Nuts.

So except for the extreme exhaustion and the 50+ trips to the bathroom, it was a pretty good 1st day.  Only 29 more to go! 🙂

What's on your mind today?

