Book Review – House of Commare series by Kristen Painter

  If you are a fan of the Twilight Series like I was then you’ll love Kristen Painter’s world of other naturals. She take the vampires and werewolves to another level by introducing even more magical creatures (including a ghost who haunts the main vampire, Mal). Chrysabelle is the heroine of the series. She is a Commare which is a special race of humans bred especially for the noble vampires specifically for their blood. 

When Chrysabelle is refused the offer of freedom at her century celebration with her vampire patron, he is murdered and she is the prime suspect. She escapes to Florida where she enters the unfamiliar human world. Here she meets Malkolm, a vampire cursed to kill anyone whose blood he drinks. 

Together they discover a plot to expose the supernatural world to humans that could start a war between heaven and hell.  From Florida to New Orleans and Romania to Russia, Malkolm and Chysabelle race against time to save the world from darkness and ultimately save each other. 

I got lost in Kristen’s world of fantasy and magical creatures. While the first book was a “can’t put it down” book some of the others had slow starts so I labored until I got to the action and nail-biting suspense. Painter has a unique twist on how vampires obtain blood that was new and intriguing, and I was taken by surprise at finding out the lineage of this rare race was made. 

The love story is a bit expected but with Mal’s curse, I was still on edge about how it would play out even in the last book. I love an author who can keep you in suspense and while some elements were painfully obvious, there were still some secrets that made me glad I persevered. 

I’m not sure if I will read Kristen’s next series, but with the setting being New Orleans, my Southern roots may get the better of me and try it out if not just for that one reason. 

So this is my first book review of many to come. I have set a goal for the month of June to finish 4 books and I am almost done with book #4 now. I will try to post some of those book reviews in the weeks to come. I would love to make this a weekly post so let me know what you think of it. 

Next review Rick Yancey’s 5th Wave. 

What's on your mind today?

